Team Selection: Round Nine

Adelaide have made six changes to their squad which will face Brisbane at Adelaide Oval on Saturday night.

Ruckman Kieran Strachan was named to play his first game of 2022 after a strong performance in the SANFL this season.

Front key Darcy Fogarty returns to the side for the first time since the third-round showdown alongside Jake Soligo who will play his third professional game.

Brodie Smith and Ned McHenry both arrive in the 22nd after a week off with concussions.

james rowe was named on the half-forward flank after serving as a medical substitute against Carlton in the eighth round.

Lachlan Murphy will miss the ninth round due to neck pain.

Reilly O’Brien, Lachlan Gollant, Billy Frampton, Cook Brayden and Harry Schoenberg have been omitted.

Crows head of football Adam Kelly said the high number of substitutions was a combination of form and availability.

“Brodie Smith and Ned McHenry are coming back from concussions while Lachie Murphy is missing due to neck pain he felt against Carlton and hasn’t fully recovered from,” Kelly said.

“The balance of the changes is a recognition for the players who have played their part at SANFL level and a recognition that those coming out of the AFL squad have not always performed at their best.”

Regarding O’Brien’s omission, Kelly said the ruckman “didn’t get the rhythm from the consistent performances.”

“Reilly has had games this year where his impact has been significant, the Western Bulldogs game being a good example of that, however, he hasn’t had the consistent pace of performance that we have grown accustomed to over the past few seasons” , said Kelly.

“There is no doubting Reilly’s ability to return to the type of form that has earned him such high regard in our group and he has provided further evidence of his leadership ability in dealing with his omission. , which is a great example of what it means to put others first.

“Kieran Strachan has always been in good shape in the SANFL, playing his role week after week, and he has performed very well in the last two rounds of the 2021 AFL season.

“He really deserved this opportunity.”

Tariek Newchurch, Nick Murray, Patrick PARNEL and Luke Peddler have been designated as emergencies and one must be confirmed as a medical substitute one hour before the game.

Saturday night’s game begins at 7:10 p.m. ACST.

Fogarty, Rowe, Strachan, Soligo, McHenry, Smith

O’Brien, Frampton, Gollant, Cook, Schoenberg, Murphy (innings)

Adelaide’s round nine team is:

Leave a Comment